Washington County is one of 36 counties in Oregon, and was established in 1843. The county was first named Twality, and was renamed in 1849, in honor of George Washington, the first president of the United States. Twality was one of the four districts originally created in Oregon Country, including Champooick, Yamhill and Clackamas. Hillsboro was originally called Columbia, and in 1850 became the county seat. Washington County has many small towns, urban cities and rural areas that offer a variety of historical sites and landmarks.

Washington County Historical Society & Museum
17677 NW Springville Rd.
Portland, OR 97229
(503) 645-5353

Washington County Visitors Association
11000 SW Stratus Street, Suite 170
Beaverton, OR 97008
(503)  644-5555

For more information about Washington County History, please click here


This Washington County website page is for History, Facts, Archives, Records, Museums, Exhibits, Documents, Genealogy, Libraries, Historians, Research, Historic Preservation, Ancestry and Statistics in Washington County, Hillsboro, Forest Grove, Beaverton, Tigard, Cornelius, Aloha, Tualatin, Banks, Manning, Gales Creek, Durham, Gaston, Glenwood, King City, Buxton, North Plains, Sherwood, Helvetia, Oak Hills, Orenco, Timber, West Union, Mountaindale and Pacific University.